
Reported/Observed 
Crime

Law Enforcement 
Investigation

Arrest

West Virginia state, county, or 
municipal law enforcement may 

conduct investigations and arrests

Stages of a West Virginia Criminal Case

An arrest typically happens at an 
active crime scene or as the result of 

an investigation

Jail Booking

Your personal information, 
photograph, and fingerprints will be 

recorded at this time. You will get one 
phone call. You have the right to 

remain silent during all questioning 
until you have an attorney present. 

Law Enforcement 
Assisted Diversion

Purple = Law Enforcement

Light Orange = Magistrate Court

Red = Circuit Court 

Light Blue = Supreme Court

Dark Blue = Corrections



Charges Filed

Prosecutors decide whether to file 
formal charges against you. They are 
able to charge you with more or less 

severe charges than the police 
arrested you for, and to decline to file 
charges that police arrested you for. 

Law Enforcement Assisted Diversion 
(LEAD) is a pre-booking program that 

allows law enforcement officers to 
give low-level offenders the 

opportunity for rehabilitation instead 
of incarceration. 

Initial Appearance 
(Magistrate)

The magistrate will set bail and allow 
you reasonable time and opportunity 

to consult with someone for the 
purpose of obtaining counsel or 

arranging bail. 

Initial Hearing 
(Magistrate, for 
misdemeanors)

Preliminary Hearing 
(Magistrate, for 

felonies)

Pre-Trial Diversion

Unless you waive 
your right to a 

preliminary hearing, it 
will be held no later 
than 10 days after 

your initial 
appearance if you are 
in jail or no later than 
20 days if you are not 

in jail. 



Before trial, the prosecuting 
attorney may be willing to enter 
a pre-trial diversion agreement 
with you. The agreement says 
you will not be prosecuted if 

you comply with a set of 
conditions over a period of 

time, not more than 24 months.

Jury Trial Case sent to Circuit 
Court

Bench Trial 
(Magistrate only)

Circuit Courts have 
jurisdiction over all 

felony cases.

Sentencing

Jail (sentences <1 
year)

Probation

Revocation (see pg. 
5)

Information Grand Jury

An information is an 
accusation against 
you for a criminal 
offense without an 

indictment.

A grand jury is tasked 
with determining 

whether to bring an 
indictment against 

yout.



Arraignment

Guilty Plea Trial

At arraignment, you will be read the 
charges being brought against you 

according to an indictment or 
information. You will then have the 
chance to plead guilty, not guilty, or 

no contest.

You can plead guilty 
instead of insisting that 
the prosecution prove 

you guilty at a trial. You 
may get a “plea 

bargain” where you are 
given a lighter sentence 
or allowed to plead to a 

lesser offense. 

During your trial, both 
the prosecutor and your 

defense attorney will 
present evidence 

through witnesses who 
testify about what the 
saw or know. After all 

evidence is presented, 
the attorneys will give 

their closing arguments. 
The jury then decides if 
you are guilty beyond a 
reasonable doubt or not 

guilty. 

Sentencing

If you are convicted, either by pleading 
guilty or being found guilty at trial, you will 
have a sentencing hearing. Your attorney 

may submit sentencing memoranda 
arguing for a proposed sentence, and you 
will have a chance to speak before you are 

sentenced. 



Appeal Prison (sentences >1 
year)

Probation and 
Community 
Corrections

Jail (sentences <1 
year)

After sentencing, you can 
submit an appeal to the 

Supreme Court of Appeals 
of West Virginia if you 

believe you were wrongly 
convicted or that your 

sentence is too harsh. An 
appeal is not another trial 
but an opportunity for you 
to raise specific errors that 

might have occurred at 
trial. You may be sentenced to 

a period of probation, 
during which you remain in 
the community under the 
supervision of a probation 

officer. Community 
corrections can involve 

home confinement or day 
report. 

Revocation

If you violate any 
conditions of your 

probation, you may be 
arrested and brought to 
court for a hearing and 

face further 
consequences, including 

revocation of your 
probation.



Extended 
SupervisionHabeas Corpus

Parole

If you are imprisoned, you 
have the right to challenge 

the legality of your 
imprisonment – or the 

conditions in which you 
are being imprisoned – 

through a petition for a writ 
of habeas corpus 

submitted to the circuit 
court. 

The West Virginia Parole 
Board makes independent 

decision regarding the 
conditional release of adult 

offenders. If released on 
parole, you will be 

assigned a parole officer 
and must follow your 
conditions of release. 

For certain charges, you may be 
subject to extended supervision, a 

period of supervision that takes place 
after you discharge your sentence. 
During this period, you must follow 
the conditions of your release, and 
are subject to reincarceration if you 

violate these conditions.


